PDA

View Full Version : Rene Schwaeble

Hellin Hermetist
10-18-2010, 04:39 PM
Lately I am studying a small French treatise named "Alchime Simplifie", written by a certain Rene Schwaeble. The author devotes his treatise to his Maitre J.K. Huysman, a famous French author, better known for his novel named La-bas.

The treatise has some interesting points, although it isn't very alchemical. It seems that the author is trying to combine the chemical theories of his period with the ancient doctrine of the alchemists. He is speaking about the astral light and he is referring to hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen and carbon as the primitive substances/atoms from which are created all the choses which are found at the earth. In any case, it's an interesting reading.

In the same treatise, you will also find some archemical experiments, some of which are similar to the experiments which are mentioned at the Papyri Leyden. You shall find even a procedure for the production of a transmutation stone. At the end of the treatise the author makes a mention to a certain Dr. Jobert of Paris, with whom it seems that he was in contact and that they had worked together for some time.

Does anyone has more infos about the life of that Rene Schwaeble and the relation between him, Nuysman and Dr. Jobert? Also, does anyone know anything more about that Dr. Jobert? Is that a real name or a pseudonym? Maybe our friends from France, which are well informed at the historical matters can shed some light here.

PS: You can download the aforementioned treatise from the following link.
http://chrysopee.pagesperso-orange.fr/somalc.htm

Pink Panther
10-18-2010, 06:06 PM
Hello Hellin Hermetist,

René Schwaeblé's Alchimie simplifiée often borrows materials form the Dr Jobert's Cours d'alchimie. It is almost a plagiarism. Schwaeblé presents himselfs as a supporter of Dr Jobert, in the controversy that opposed Jobert to Hyperchemists*.
Schwaeblé can be considered as a Jobert's student.