PDA

View Full Version : Prima Materia and the Quintessence

71xt2xb3xr7
04-25-2011, 01:35 AM
I am fairly new to this site and I have been studying alchemy for about a few years. But there is this nagging feeling in me that says there is no difference between the Prima Materia and the Quintessence. But then there is a part in me that says they are different only in function. Can anyone clarify the difference and the individual functions of the two. Thank You.

Andro
04-25-2011, 04:03 AM
Hi, and welcome to Alchemy Forums!

There is this nagging feeling in me that says there is no difference between the Prima Materia and the Quintessence.
But then there is a part in me that says they are different only in function. Can anyone clarify the difference and the individual functions of the two.

The stone out of which Michelangelo's 'David' was sculpted/carved could be compared to the 'Prima Materia' for this particular work.
The sculpture itself ('David') could be seen as the 'Quintessence' of this particular work.

This is more of an explanation via analogy, but maybe more 'forthcoming' and terminologically detailed/explicit answers will be coming forth...

We must also keep in mind that alchemical writers are in the habit of giving many names to one thing, and the same name to many things.
So, a special way of 'reading' and of 'perceiving' is necessary for a better and deeper understanding of the terms.

I have been studying alchemy for about a few years.

It would be interesting if you could elaborate a bit about your studies so far. Maybe the Introductions (http://forum.alchemyforums.com/forumdisplay.php?3-Introductions-%28new-members-go-here%29) thread is better suited for this.

71xt2xb3xr7
04-28-2011, 05:22 PM
So a lump of clay is akin to the Prima Materia while the finished piece of art (clay pottery or sculpture) is the quintessence of the image it represents.

Opus Magnum
05-22-2011, 03:34 PM