PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's Question

Primera Hebi
11-06-2012, 10:27 PM
Where does one start? Many recommend that I read alchemical text, but where does a complete beginner who knows very little about the beliefs and terms of alchemy start? Physical and Spiritual aspects (yes, I know I may have to read about each aspect seperately, but which book). Some recommend I read an "intro" book (e.g. The Complete Idiot's Guide to Alchemy). Others say I should read the "classics."

First line of business, introduction book or straight into classic works?

Second of all, if I were to go straight to one of the classics, which one do I read first? Which one will explain/describe the fundamentals? Which one will I learn terms and such from?

Thank you for your time.

~Primera Hebi~

Krisztian
11-07-2012, 01:43 AM
Where does one start?

I'm assuming you intend on pursuing laboratory alchemy, correct?

Read Bartlett's, Stavish's, Cotnoir's, or Dubuis' reflection on what alchemy is. Jack Glass also teaches well. Know the theory first.

Secondly, perhaps find a teacher who can initiate. Alchemy is initiatory in nature, or at least it is for me.

What's your current interest in pursuing alchemy, Primera Hebi?

Primera Hebi
11-07-2012, 02:41 AM
I'm assuming you intend on pursuing laboratory alchemy, correct?

Read Bartlett's, Stavish's, Cotnoir's, or Dubuis' reflection on what alchemy is. Jack Glass also teaches well. Know the theory first.

Secondly, perhaps find a teacher who can initiate. Alchemy is initiatory in nature, or at least it is for me.

What's your current interest in pursuing alchemy, Primera Hebi?

Well, I came to this forum wishing to learn about the laboratory, but now I have became interested in it all (a good thing, I suppose). And will those authors you mentioned define/mention the things I must first learn? Also, my current interest is... All of it. I wish to learn about it all. The spiritual and physical.

Lo!
11-07-2012, 02:52 AM