PDA

View Full Version : Experiments with Copper

Kiorionis
06-12-2013, 07:56 PM
I recently extracted what is most likely the oil from Copper.
It's a nice blue color.
I am excited :)

The oil was taken out with salt and then taken from the salt with vinegar, and currently is sitting on my shelf.

Repeated distillation of the solution with 95% spirit of wine should in theory bring over the oil, and should leave the vinegar behind. Haven't tried it yet though (this is my first time working with an oil from metal).

I am however curious of other processes for separating the two.
Also curious if this is in fact an oil of copper.
and also curious if any of you have experience with anything similar and would like to give helpful tips, hints, cheats, etc; either in this thread or through PM.

I'll post a picture as soon as I get back home.

cheers

Kiorionis
06-12-2013, 11:41 PM
on second thought, I could probably distill off te vinegar. but I'm not sure how the acidity would affect the oil.

Andro
06-13-2013, 09:11 AM
Hi Kiorionis,

Did the copper dissolve? Or just extracted?

If it didn't dissolve, was the extracted metal altered in any way? (color, thickness/consistency, etc...)

Could you perhaps post images of the metal after extraction?

Thanks.

Kiorionis
06-13-2013, 01:22 PM
Hey,

No the copper didn't dissolve, it only changed to a light pink. leads me to believe it is just the oil being extracted.
It's thickness and consistency remained the same, but it did feel a bit softer afterwards.

Yes I have pictures coming soon. Probably after work tonight if I remember.

Kiorionis
06-13-2013, 07:41 PM
photos for you all :)

This first photo is the copper in solution. I'm thinking it's turned more white and pink and more dull on account of losing the blue tincture.
http://imageshack.us/a/img35/1316/img06311.jpg

And here is the tincture extracted from the salts. comes out a pretty blue.
http://imageshack.us/a/img24/7802/img0632qn.jpg