PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Floyd
04-01-2014, 04:56 AM
Hey everyone!

My name's simply TJ. I'm really excited about becoming a member of such an interesting learning environment. I hope to learn as much as I can while I am here, and eventually become knowledgable enough to teach others in the way of alchemy.

I am only a beginner in Alchemy, and I don't know too much, yet. I am also a practicing blacksmith of 8 years, and a senior in college studying mathematics and physics. You might say that my interest in alchemy and smithing stem from my deep love and interest for math and science. I am mainly drawn by the alchemist's way of thinking to develop a deeper love and understand of our universe. Scientists today don't think the same way they did several centuries ago, and I want to learn and understand the way Newton, Bacon, Boyle, and others percieved alchemy and the sciences. Thus, my interests span the realms of mathematical alchemy, applications of modern physics, metallurgy, and alchemic philosophy, and theological alchemy.

So, I'm really looking forward to this new journey of learning and personal growth. I'm really excited that there's others out there that think the way I do, and that I can connect with. See you all on the discussion boards!

Andro
04-01-2014, 05:24 AM
Welcome TJ !

Also, just a suggestion (and you surely don't have to take it), but I'm wondering, wouldn't it be more convenient to just use, for example, TJ (or Floyd) as your username, rather than tjfloyd.sci?

I may get confused whether you are a person or a website :) (Just kidding...)

What do you think?

Also, it is IMO a very special, challenging and worthy task to unify Alchemy and Science.

I believe they weren't divided and fragmented in the distant past as they are today...

DonSweet
04-01-2014, 06:13 AM
Welcome TJ.

Fairly new myself.

About age 10-12 they called me "DJ."

black
04-01-2014, 07:46 AM
Hi TJ.

It's about time we had another Newton, Bacon or Boyle.