PDA

View Full Version : Why I Consider Myself To Be An Alchemist

MarkostheGnostic
04-11-2014, 01:40 AM
It's not because I have a Soxhlet and an essential oil alembic set up in my study, or because I read many books on alchemy, or even because I studied the work of C.G. Jung at the graduate level and underwent almost a decade of Jungian analysis with three Zurich-trained analysts.

I do not think of myself as an alchemist because even at the age of 10, my father, having seen me exhaust the chemicals of two Gilbert® chemistry sets, procured for me my first flasks, beakers, ring stand, and alcohol lamp, and built a home lab for me which grew in complexity through high school. The greatest gifts for me was a Perfect® 250 ml retort, a thistle tube (then, only .75¢), or a distilling flask with a Liebig condenser.

I WILL concede that the emotion of AWE that I experienced in the course of conducting a certain experiment, was one of those pivotal points in my life where simple wonder grew to an intensity that attained a numinous quality. I was 12 years old when I distilled a bit of a photographic chemical, Potassium Bromide, that a friend of my father had brought me, in a few milliliters of 5% Sulphuric acid in my retort. The clear liquid began to boil, and like an epiphany, crimson vapors of Bromine were evolved, rose, and snaked down the retort's spout, condensing in the small boiling flask suspended in a beaker of ice water. The phenomena of chemistry was fascinating, but I remember something 'else,' a whole new order of awareness seemed to be born inside of me.