PDA

View Full Version : Simple Wet Method with Baking Soda.

Breemar
08-25-2014, 01:18 AM
First of all, I am a beginner. Where I live, it isn't so easy to buy Sodium hydroxide. In fact, the drug store that had it, refused to sell it to me, saying it could be used to make drugs, implying that I look like a crack junkie, which was extremly upsetting. Such things make me sick... Meanwhile I know that this person was wrong in that Sodium Carbonate, aka Baking Soda is used to make Drugs, and guess what, Baking Soda is sold everywhere, without limits. Anyway, I had to find a way around. I tried to make Potassium hydroxide from Wood ashes, it worked, but was a lot of work just for a half a cup of PH11 solution...

So I thought I will give Sodium Carbonate a try. For Swimming Pools, named "PH Plus", seemed to be exactly what I needed.

First of all, you have to mix the water with the soda first and add the salt later. If you do it the other way, the soda will not disolve in Saltwater.

Second, if you're a beginner like me, you should know that the various brands of food grade Sea Salt differ a lot. At the other hand, unprocessed Dead Sea Salt, eg. bath salt, is usually all about the same.

So first I tried it with atlantic sea salt only, but the result was poor: slightly milky solution that did not set over night, but remained colloidal. So, the next day I added some dead sea salt, and bingo, the solution became very milky, almost completely opaque.

Right now it is sitting since about 5 hours and I have about 80% white ppt on the bottom and totally clear water on top, it's seperating nicely. It's keeping on concentrating and I'll start washing it tomorrow.

I'll let you know about its properties as soon as I know more.

The water I use: From a room dehumidifier (an air contitioner could be used as well). This water is soft (no chalk) and comparable to destilled water. I filter it and cook it to get rid of fungus spores that are usually in such water. PH is about 4.5.