PDA

View Full Version : Hello from British Columbia!

Cedar
05-28-2016, 07:35 PM
Hello! Being new here, I would like introduce myself. I am an English professor on Vancouver Island in Canada. My PhD dissertation focused on two mystics (Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe); my postdoctoral fellowship focused on two alchemists (Thomas Norton and George Ripley). When teaching general medieval literature, I include a unit on alchemy (with selections from Norton and Ripley); when teaching Chaucer, I include basic alchemical concepts via "The Canon's Yeoman's Tale." My academic work on alchemy includes journal articles. I've also written a novel called The Alchemists' Council. To learn more about my work, please visit my blog: https://cyntheamasson.com/. Currently I am writing Book 2 of the series. Since two of my characters conjoin to form a Rebis, I am particularly interested in threads on the alchemical hermaphrodite, as well as representations of sexuality, the chemical wedding, and the homunculus. Being a full-time professor and writer, I am often quite busy; but I look forward to exploring the forums whenever I have time. Thank you for welcoming me!

JinRaTensei
05-28-2016, 08:01 PM
welcome to the community! :)

Awani
05-28-2016, 08:14 PM
Welcome!

:cool:

Ghislain
05-29-2016, 09:32 AM
Welcome Cedar,

Your addition to the forum should be very interesting.

Ghislain

Illen A. Cluf
05-29-2016, 03:55 PM
Welcome! I'm looking forward to your contributions. I was also very interested in Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe a decade or two ago. In addition, I found Jeanne Mance and Marguerite Bourgeoys (1620-1700) of the Sulpician Ville-Marie (Montreal) to be amazing women, who inspired the feminine aspect of esoteric religion. Because of their incredible humbleness, they're not well known, as they would have wished, but should have been, since they could inspire many.

z0 K
05-29-2016, 05:33 PM
Welcome,