Patrons of the Sacred Art

Can't log in? Contact Us

OPEN TO REGISTER: Click HERE if you want to join Alchemy Forums!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What language(s) to learn?

What language(s) to learn?

What's the most used language for good alchemical texts available? Latin or what language would be recommended to learn for me? I'm a total noob in the area.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Amur View Post
    What's the most used language for good alchemical texts available? Latin or what language would be recommended to learn for me? I'm a total noob in the area.
    German.

French.

Italian.

Latin (?)

Green

Blog Entries
    Latin obviously yes.

Greek also can be useful.

Arab too.

But, more important than all of these languages : the language of Nature. This one can teach you soooo many things directly from the source.
    Salazius

http://dartigne.blogspot.com/

My Works

"I want to transmute everywhere" ~ The Spirit of Alchemy.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Salazius View Post
    But, more important than all of these languages : the language of Nature. This one can teach you soooo many things directly from the source.

Click image for larger version

Name:	TheBookofNature.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	755

Quote Originally Posted by Amur View Post
    For early alchemical texts, Greek and Arabic are essential, since the bulk of the earlier literature on the subject has been preserved in these two languages.

For later alchemical and "chymical" texts, Latin and German are the two languages that have preserved the bulk of the literature.

Hallo
    Fist of all, to me learning languages is a priority if you are serious about (western) alchemy, as there are tons of sources untranslated, and for those that are already translated, being able to take a peek at the original is a big advantage, seeing that the matter is very delicate and difficult to understand.
    My priority list: